Kathleen O'Neal Gear & W Michael Gear

Welcome to the online home of best selling authors Kathleen O'Neal Gear and W Michael Gear.

Kathleen O'Neal Gear & W. Michael Gear are New York Times Best Selling Authors with over 17 million copies of their books in print world-wide. Their books have been translated into at least twenty-nine languages.

Meet The Authors
Kathleen O'Neal & W Michael Gear
Kathleen O'Neal & W Michael Gear

Since the publication of THE WARRIORS OF SPIDER in 1988, the Gears have been busy entertaining & educating the public with their award winning books. From their popular First North Americans novels to their spine tingling thrillers their books continue to keep readers eagerly awaiting each new release.

Discover the Books
Gear & Gear Book Collection
Kathleen O'Neal & W Michael Gear

Stay up to date with all the exciting news & updates about Gear & Gear books!

Stay Connected with the Gears
Kathleen O'Neal & W Michael Gear

W. Michael Gear and Kathleen O’Neal Gear are best selling authors & award winning archaeologists who have written over 60 books.

Cries From The Lost Island

CRIES FROM THE LOST ISLAND by Kathleen O'Neal Gear is now available for purchase in hardbound & e-formats.


UNRECONCILED, W. Michael Gear's forth book in the Donovan series is now available in hardbound & e-formats.

Join the Fan Club

Get exclusive content, give feedback, share your ideas, & meet new people.

Browse Books

Look at the collection of Gear books online now or search for your favorites.


Welcome to the Gear & Gear Web Site

Kathleen O'Neal Gear & W. Michael Gear have over 17 million copies of their books in print world-wide which have been translated into at least twenty-nine languages.

The Gears have also been awarded the Western Writers of America 2021 Owen Wister Award for Lifetime Contributions to Western Literature and will be inducted in the Western Writers Hall of Fame at the McCracken Library in the Buffalo Bill Center of the West.. They are the first Wyoming authors and also the first coauthors to receive this honor.

Additionally in 2021, Kathleen O'Neal Gear's CRIES FROM THE LOST ISLAND won 1st place in the 2021 International Book Awards for the Young Adult category and W. Michael Gear's UNRECONCILED won 1st place in the International Book Awards for the science fiction category.

About Kathleen O'Neal Gear:

Kathleen O'Neal Gear has over two hundred non-fiction publications in the fields of archaeology, history, and bison conservation, and has authored or co-authored 47 international bestsellers. She has received numerous awards, both for her writing and for her work as an archaeologist. The United States Department of the Interior has twice awarded her a "Special Achievement Award" for outstanding management of America's cultural resources. In 2015, she was honored by the United States Congress with a "Certificate of Special Congressional Recognition."  Also in 2015, the State of California passed Joint Member Resolution #117 saying, "The contributions of Kathleen O'Neal Gear to the fields of history, archaeology, and writing have been invaluable." She lives with her husband, William Michael Gear in northern Wyoming.

About W. Michael Gear:

Michael has published or is in the process of publishing more than 20 novels under his own name and authored another 37 with Kathleen. Recently released books include DISSOLUTION, UNRECONCILEDFLIGHT OF THE HAWK: THE PLAINS, and STAR PATH along with PEOPLE OF THE CANYONS which he co-authored with Kathleen O'Neal Gear. He also has books with upcoming release dates including FRACTURE EVENT which will be available soon. Additionally, W. Michael Gear is working on LIGHTNING SHELL, book five of the PEOPLE OF CAHOKIA series, IMPLACABLE ALPHA, book 2 in the ALPHA series, and ADRIFT, Book 5 of the Donovan series. His work runs the gamut from historical, to prehistorical, to science fiction, to modern thrillers. All of his work deals with some aspect of anthropological theory. His MORNING RIVER was submitted for the Pulitzer prize in fiction, and the National Book Award in 1998. In September 2021, Michael was inducted into the Colorado Authors' Hall of Fame in recognition of his lifetime achievement. 

Listen to an excerpt of the audio edition of THIS SCORCHED EARTH, the newly released book by W. Michael Gear.


Southeastern Literary Tourism Initiative

SELTI is an organization that promotes tourism through literature. Each feature offers readers short stories, poetry, and book excerpts about real places to visit. Every story has a companion travel guide with links for more information. SELTI is the nation's premier site for the hot new genre of tourism fiction.

Visit the real places in the Gears' novels

Welcome Message from the Gears - Audio

AudioListen Authors Kathleen O'Neal Gear & W. Michael Gear have a special welcome message to fans.

People of the Morning Star - Video

People of the Morning Star

New & Upcoming Book Releases

The Implacable Alpha Book

New York Times bestselling author W. Michael Gear continues the thrilling sci-fi mystery of Prisoner Alpha in book two of the Team Psi novels. Released on April 2022. Now available in a variety of formats.

Abandoned Book

Just released in June 2022 by Wolfpack Publishing. Kathleen O’Neal Gear writes with poignancy & realism tales of the past that are immensely entertaining & surprisingly educational.


Western word-slinger W. Michael Gear's sequel to the bestselling contemporary apocalyptic western, Dissolution. will be released in hardback, paperback, eBook, & audio on January 19, 2022.

Dissolution Book - Wyoming Chronicles

DISSOLUTION is Book One in the new series The Wyoming Chronicles by New York Times Best Selling author W. Michael Gear. It was released in June 2021 and is an Amazon best seller in its category.

The Alpha Enigma Book

THE FOUNDATION is a thrilling new novel by award-winning archaeologists W. Michael Gear and Kathleen O'Neal Gear where in a perilous race to save humanity there will be a deadly battle of wits.

Star Path

THE ICE GHOST, the second novel in the ICE Trilogy was released in May 2022. The ICE Trilogy is about climate science gone wrong. Now available for purchase

Ice Orphan

THE ICE ORPHAN, the third novel in the ICE Trilogy is slated for release in November 2022. The ICE Trilogy is about climate science gone wrong. Now available for pre-order!

Ice Orphan

THE RECKONING, the sixth novel in the DONOVAN Series is slated for release in October 2022. Returns to the treacherous alien planet in this thrilling book. Now available for pre-order!

Fracture Event Book Cover

FRACTURE EVENT, a a gripping disaster thriller by New York Times and USA Today bestselling authors will be released August 24, 2021 in hardbound, paperback & eBook formats by Wolfpack Publishing.

Image is not available

THE ICE ORPHAN, book #3 of the ICE trilogy is in its first draft format!
LIGHTNING SHELL book five of the PEOPLE OF CAHOKIA series & the final book in the "People" series will be coming soon!
Other books in the works include: FOURTH QUADRANT, the sequel to DISSSOLUTION, and RECKONING, the sixth Donovan novel.